The Knights of Columbus - Council 7821

OrganizationFather Michael J. McGivney

     Thanks to the efforts of Father Michael J. McGivney, assistant pastor of St. Mary’s Church in New Haven and some of his parishioners, the Connecticut state legislature on March 29, 1882, officially chartered the Knights of Columbus as a fraternal benefit society. The Order is still true to its founding principles of charity, unity and fraternity.

     The Knights was formed to render financial aid to members and their families. Mutual aid and assistance are offered to sick, disabled and needy members and their families. Social and intellectual fellowship is promoted among members and their families through educational, charitable, religious, social welfare, war relief and public relief works.  The organization has grown to over 13,000 councils and over 1.7 Million Members worldwide. It is centrally organized on three levels, including Supreme, State and Local.


Supreme_hq     The Supreme Council, located in New Haven, Connecticut is the governing body of the Knights of Columbus. It is responsible for the entire organization. The Supreme Council's duties include organization-wide initiatives, promoting awareness of the Knights’ mission, and protecting the families of members through its insurance program. The Supreme Knight Carl Anderson, is the top ranking member of the Knights of Columbus.


StateCrest of the California Knights of Columbus
     The California State Council is headquartered in Fontana, California.  Council 7821 is in the 58th District of California. There are five councils in the this district, which includes portions of Bakersfield.  District 58 is in the Diocese of Fresno.


     Msgr. Eggert Council 7821 is currently led by Grand Knight Phillip Grassa III. It has members from the local Parish, St. Malachy Catholic Church. Council 7821 was founded on May 25, 1981.  Today it is comprised of over 125 members.  Edward Hanks, Jr. served as the first Grand Knight, assisted by Romulo Corral as Deputy Grand Knight.  Mr. Corral served as Grand Knight the following year, and his son, Manuel, followed in his fathers footsteps and was elected Grand Knight in 2004-2005.  The council has meetings on the first Tuesday of each month at 7pm. Brothers are involved in many activities year-round such as Blood Drives, Free Throw Contests, Youth Soccer Challenges, Fish Fry's, Pancake Breakfasts, Tootsie Roll Drives, Boston Butt Sales, Thanksgiving Dinners, Breakfast With Santa, and many others.


     There are four degrees: Charity, Unity, Fraternity, and Patriotism. Each degree offers it's own particular lesson. A Knight enters as first degree and learns the lesson of Charity. Knights are encouraged to obtain their Second and Third degree. Once the Third Degree is obtained, the honor of full Knighthood bestowed. Only Third Degree members may become officers.


Fourth Degree
     Our Fourth Degree Assembly 52, headquartered in Bakersfield, meets the third Wednesday of each month. One must first be a Third Degree for a year before applying. Assembly 52 is the Admiral Callaghan Assembly.


Ladies Auxiliary
     The Ladies Auxiliary is not directly connected to the Supreme Council of the Knights of Columbus. They do however, provide a valuable service to our community and council.


3rd emblem     The emblem for the Knights of Columbus consists of a Formée cross with a fasces, an anchor and a sword. The Fourth emblemfasces dates back to Roman times as a symbol of authority. The anchor is mariner's tool, referring to Columbus' seamanship. The sword is a Knight's weapon.

The Fourth Degree's symbol is a Maltese Cross representing Christ, a dove symbolizes the Holy Spirit, and the globe for the Father. The Western Hemisphere is facing forward for Christopher Columbus' discovery.

Famous Knights
     Some of the more famous Knights include: John F. Kennedy, Samuel Alito, Jeb Bush, Vince Lombardi, Babe Ruth, and Floyd Patterson. Seven Knights have been declared Saints including the Six Mexican Martyrs and Bishop Rafael Guizar Valencia.IACK emblem


International Alliance of Catholic Knights (IACK)
     The Knights of Columbus is one of Fifteen Roman Catholic fraternal societies that make up the International Alliance of Catholic Knights
. The alliance was founded in Glasgow in 1979. 27 countries are represented in the IACK.